Dustin Hartl Speaks

I am a conservative college student on a path to becoming a political opinion blogger.

Re: My Thoughts on Fat Acceptance by Liz Houtz

Leave a comment

A fellow blogger wrote a post today on the “fat acceptance movement” and her thoughts on it. It was meant to draw attention to the narrative of false labeling and the fear of expressing concern because of the possibility of being called things like “bigot” or “fat-shamer.”

Growing up as a big guy, I have had my fair share of debates about the fat acceptance movement. These mostly stem from my inability to accept that someone is healthy if they are 600 lbs and unable to walk without an oxygen tank.

I am not a bully and I believe you should do what makes you happy, but at the same time, it is expected that others can find you unattractive or express concern over your habits. In today’s world, we have doctors who are simply afraid to tell someone their health is in danger and they need to lose weight.

Houtz said, “I find it alarming that some people choose to ignore the health risks that obesity causes, and when friends or family tell them they should consider diet and exercise so they can be healthier call it fat shaming.” This concern is one that many doctors, physicians, and therapists have been struggling with and it is one that many fear will cause it to become harder to talk openly with patients.

Houtz also said, “Those are people who care about them telling them that they’re worried about their health. They’re giving them suggestions to make life changes so they can have a healthier, better quality of life. In the end, people have their lives and it’s their choice if they want to be healthy or not. It’s up to them. That’s all I have to say.” This is something that I actually disagree with.

When someone is overweight, they can cause other people’s lives to become harder. How can this be?

For example, you are on a plane and you paid for your ticket, imagine having someone who ought to have bought two seats sitting next to you and they only bought one.

This is a problem that a lot of airlines are facing and they can not address it. They are afraid that bringing this topic to light would cause a panic and an uproar from social justice warriors and those who are apart of the “fat acceptance movement.”

This movement should not be about making others accept who you are,  it should be about taking personal responsibility for your health, body, and environment. If a doctor says to lose weight, you probably should (he is the one with a Ph.D).

When someone says they are concerned about your health, take a serious look at it and think about if this is what you want with your life. This “movement” is not really a movement, it is a plague.

I believe that if you want to change, you can. If I wanted to go on a diet and lose weight, I could, I am taking personal responsibility for my actions, my body, and my environment. Those involved in the movement should be doing the same.

 

8c2

 

 

Author: D.J.

I study political science and I say things others are too afraid to say.

Leave a Reply

